Appreciate your Pastors

I Thessalonians 5:12-13 The Message

 12-13 And now, friends, we ask you to honor those leaders who work so hard for you, who have been given the responsibility of urging and guiding you along in your obedience. Overwhelm them with appreciation and love!
 
This is pastor appreciation month, a time when we show appreciation to our pastor’s for all they do.  This passage shows that this is not just another holiday that the ‘card companies’ have come up with.  Although I don’t really think this should only happen once a year.  We need to appreciate all our pastors do throughout the year.  I am speaking to myself when I say this.
 
I was thinking about these things as I read this passage today and realizing how little appreciation I show to my pastors.  I thought of how they shepherd the congregation they are assigned to and try to love and encourage a group of often unruly and unappreciative people.  Any parent knows that even when you are trying your hardest to do the best you can for your children, loving them the way they need to be loved, trying to teach and discipline them in a positive way doesn’t mean that they necessarily realize or appreciate your efforts. Imagine having a whole congregation to “parent”.  What a scary and awesome responsibility.
 
Pray for your pastors, love them and show them TODAY and TOMORROW that they are appreciated.  I plan to do this also.
Leave a Reply

