More of Jesus, less of me

John 3:29-30 Amplified Bible 

29 He who has the bride is the bridegroom; but the groomsman who stands by and listens to him rejoices greatly and heartily on account of the bridegroom’s voice. This then is my pleasure and joy, and it is now complete.

30 He must increase, but I must decrease. [He must grow more prominent; I must grow less so.]

I woke up this morning with verse 30 going through my mind. “He must increase, but I must decrease. [He must grow more prominent; I must grow less so.]”  Waking up with a verse on my mind is not something that usually happens to me but ever since I started writing this blog I have found that the Lord will “impress” on me what I need to write about as long as I don’t let myself get too busy to ‘listen’.

As I was thinking about this verse two thing about it stood out to me.  I kept thinking how important this is for us as we follow Jesus.  To allow Him to increases and we (our natural person) decrease so that we can grow in our faith, love, grace, mercy and whatever He has promised that we need.  We continually need more of Jesus.  

The second thing I thought about was, how hard it must have been for John (the Baptist).  John had spent his life in the wilderness, denying himself worldly pleasures.  He (John) continually told people that they were sinners and needed to repent (never a popular subject), baptizing those who repented and telling them that one greater than him was coming. Then Jesus comes along (John’s cousin).  God showed John that Jesus was the one but He was also John’s cousin so you know that the natural part of John could have wondered if his own cousin was really the son of God even if he had heard this message all his life.  

We will ‘religiously’ think “well of course John knew (and did not doubt”) but he was a man.  He had to believe all of this by faith just like we do.  No one had ever had this happen before so John had to trust what the Spirit of God was telling him. Remember Jesus also knew what He had to do but he (his flesh) still struggled with doing it. We can be thankful that John’s (and Jesus’) faith was strong and he was obedient to God. 

Today allow yourself to decrease so that He can INCREASE.  Have faith in God, He will never let you down. 

Leave a Reply

