Rest

REST- A state of quiet or repose; a cessation from motion or labor; tranquility; as, rest from mental exertion; rest of body or mind. freedom from everything which wearies or disturbs; peace; security. (Websters unabridged dictionary 1828 + 1913)

Genesis 2:2 New King James Version
And on the seventh day God ended His work which He had done, and He rested on the seventh day from all His work which He had done.

Exodus 23:10-11 New King James Version
10 “Six years you shall sow your land and gather in its produce,
11 but the seventh year you shall let it rest and lie fallow, that the poor of your people may eat; and what they leave, the beasts of the field may eat. In like manner you shall do with your vineyard and your olive grove.

Acts 3:19-20 New International Version
19 Repent, then, and turn to God, so that your sins may be wiped out, that times of refreshing may come from the Lord, 20 and that he may send the Messiah, who has been appointed for you—even Jesus.

I Just got home from a week of vacation. A time of rest. I got to thinking toward the end of the week that I had not spent enough of my time resting in the Lord. I hadn’t completely forgotten about the things of God. I read my Bible and prayed some but I could have used more of my time to draw closer to my Lord and really entered into the rest that He has for me. How easy it can be to get ‘so busy’ relaxing that we forget to rest.

God created rest, just as He created everything else. Rest is part of God’s perfect plan. I find that amazing, although I don’t know why. Just that God said that we are to work 6 days and then have a day of rest and that He Himself rested after the 6 days of creating the world and everything in it. The Lord also gave a day of rest as part of the law and a year of rest to the land after 6 years of planting and harvest. If we would just follow His guidelines to work and rest we would all be more productive and rested.

Leave a Reply

