Forgive

Luke 6:37 (NIV) “Do not judge, and you will not be judged. Do not condemn, and you will not be condemned. Forgive, and you will be forgiven.

Colossians 3:13 (AMP) Be gentle and forbearing with one another and, if one has a difference (a grievance or complaint) against another, readily pardoning each other; even as the Lord has [freely] forgiven you, so must you also [forgive].

2 Corinthians 2:10 (NIV) Anyone you forgive, I also forgive. And what I have forgiven—if there was anything to forgive—I have forgiven in the sight of Christ for your sake,

There is a theme to these scriptures: forgive and you will be forgiven.  This is something that may seem impossible but it like love (and all the other fruit of the spirit) it is a CHOICE.

In Luke 6, Jesus tells us not to judge or condemn so that we won’t be judged or condemned. He goes on to say that we need to forgive so that we can be forgiven. Jesus knew better that anyone what it was like to be judged and
condemned unjustly. He was accused of many things He wasn’t and did not do. He is our perfect example of forgiving those who do not deserve forgiveness. He didn’t deserve to die for our sins yet He CHOSE to die for us all. We deserve punishment for our sins but because Jesus took our sins in His body we have forgiveness not punishment.

I heard someone say today that when we refuse to forgive we are trying to punish the person we hold un-forgiveness toward but instead of punishing that person we are actually punishing ourselves. When you think of it that way not forgiving is foolish. We only win when we forgive.

I know this isn’t easy. I have an ongoing situation with a person where I have to forgive them, think the situation is over and then find out that there is more to it. I have had to CHOOSE to forgive that person over and over again. Two things help me to do this. I love this person and I know that if I am going to get forgiveness in areas where I need it, I HAVE to forgive. To be honest it has gotten a little easier because I know that if I CHOOSE to forgive I CAN do it. This NOT A FEELING, it is a CHOICE. Feelings can come later, or maybe I should say a “lack” of feelings about the situation can come later. We are set free when
we forgive.

Sometimes we have un-forgiveness toward someone because of someone else. Because someone you love has been hurt or mistreated. Your loved one may have already forgiven but you haven’t. 2 Corinthians 2:10 shows that we can CHOOSE to forgive in this situation also.

I am so thankful that God loved me (us) enough to send His son so that we could have forgiveness for our sins and that Jesus loved us enough to die for our sins.

Choose to forgive, it will set you free.

Leave a comment