Enjoy Life, laugh as much as possible, “The Joy of the Lord is our Strength!”

Nehemiah 8:10 (MSG)  He continued, “Go home and prepare a feast, holiday food and drink; and share it with those who don’t have anything: This day is holy to God. Don’t feel bad. The joy of God is your strength!”

Psalm 35:27 (NKJV)  Let them shout for joy and be glad, Who favor my righteous cause;And let them say continually, “Let the Lord be magnified.  Who has pleasure in the prosperity of His servant.”

I could never be convinced that God doesn’t have a sense of humor. Too many times in life our prayers are answered in unique and hilarious ways.  We have more joy in life if we keep our eyes open to His creativity toward us.  Even in times of grief, tragedy or great stress the Lord will show you things that are just ‘laugh out loud funny’  He (the Lord) wants us to have joy.  His joy is our strength.  He knows we need strength for the hard times and He wants to give us strength.

I remember one time in my life, I realized that my heart had become hardened and I never cried no matter what the situation.  I realized that I needed to be tenderhearted and loving toward others and because of this hard heartedness I couldn’t be.  (Our family joke is that we are ‘dead inside’, although that isn’t always a joke.)  Anyway, I prayed and asked the Lord to softened my heart and bring back my tears.

A few months later while I was going through a terrible time in my life and crying all the time that God had answered my prayer.  I remember laughing when I realized this and each time after when I remembered it.  Now, I don’t believe God caused those bad things to happen to me at all but He helped me to have joy and strength through them by giving me laughter in the midst of them.  

If you find yourself going through a tough time, look for the laughter in the midst of it.  God wants to bring you joy and strength to get through it all.

Leave a Reply

