Stop Wallowing

I woke up this morning with a past sin on my mind.  It was something I hadn’t thought of for quite a while and I’m not sure why it came to me.  It was something I really regret and I thought about it a little while and as always started to pray and repent but, I realized (or the Lord reminded me) that I have already repented of this sin and I know that God has forgiven me, many years ago (although it took me several years for forgive myself).  I know that this is a ploy of Satan, our enemy to get me to foolishly wallow in a past sin rather than praising and thanking God for His forgiveness.

Wallow

1. To roll one’s self about, as in mire; to tumble and roll about; to move lazily or heavily in any medium; to flounder; as, swine wallow in the mire.

2. To live in filth or gross vice; to disport one’s self in a beastly and unworthy manner.

3. To wither; to fade

Webster’s Revised Unabridged Dictionary (1913 + 1828)

Psalm 103:12  (NLT)  He has removed our sins as far from us as the east is from the west.

God is so merciful, gracious, and loving.  He does not hold our sins against us.  He sent His Son to die for us so that we can (always) have forgiveness.  Even if (when) we sin daily, He has promised that if we repent He forgives us.  He forgives our sins before we even know Him but, He also forgives our sins after we know Him.
I am so thankful for His forgiveness.
I find though that although I know I have forgiveness there are times when I struggle to forgive myself.  The sins I have committed before I knew Jesus as savior are much easier to forgive myself for.  The sins that sometimes “haunt” me are the ones I have committed as a “born again” believer.  Mostly because I have always felt that I should have been stronger to stand against those temptations.  There are all kinds of excuses I could give for why I sinned at those times but it always comes back to not trusting the Lord enough and turning those things over to Him.
I repented (many years ago).  God forgave me.  He says in His word that Jesus came to forgive us of our sins if we are faithful to repent.  I am free.  I just have to remember that.

1 John 1:9 (AMP)  If we [freely] admit that we have sinned and confess our sins, He is faithful and just (true to His own nature and promises) and will forgive our sins [dismiss our lawlessness] and [continuously] cleanse us from all unrighteousness [everything not in conformity to His will in purpose, thought, and action].

Praise God!  We don’t have to wallow in our sins.  We are forgiven.

 

Leave a Reply

