Laughter

Proverbs 15:15 (MSG)

A miserable heart means a miserable life;a cheerful heart fills the day with song.

Proverbs 17:22  (NLT)  

A cheerful heart is good medicine,but a broken spirit saps a person’s strength.

Proverbs 17:22  (KJV)

 A merry heart doeth good like a medicine: but a broken spirit drieth the bones.

This past Saturday evening I went with my husband, daughter and son-in-law to hear Comedian Tim Hawkins.  Although I think he is very funny I wasn’t too excited about going, it would be a long drive and a late Saturday night and to be honest I didn’t think it was worth the trip.  

I was wrong!  It was great!  The guy is hysterical and I laughed till I cried for 2 hours.  It was a great show.  It has been a long time since I have laughed (or cried) that much.  Good, clean humor.  I recommend checking out his U Tube videos and his Facebook page.

I have been thinking about how much fun it was too just laugh and kept thinking about how the Bible says that “a merry heart is good medicine”.  I know I felt much better, lighter and refreshed after spending that time laughing.  

I always recommend finding ways to laugh.  Look at comics, read jokes, spend time with your “funny” ha-ha friends and/or spend time with a young child (they are sooo funny without even trying.)  Don’t be afraid to enjoy life.  Have a merry heart.  The Bible tells us that “the joy of the Lord is our strength” so relax, laugh and enjoy your life.  It’s good for you.

Tim will be in Greenwood, Indiana January 19 if you want to hear him live.

Leave a Reply

