My Prayer for Today – To be Truly Thankful

Psalm 119:5-16, 11-16  (NLT)

 5 Oh, that my actions would consistently reflect Your decrees!
 6 Then I will not be ashamed when I compare my life with Your commands.
 7 As I learn Your righteous regulations, I will thank You by living as I      should!
 8 I will obey Your decrees.

    Please don’t give up on me!

11 I have hidden Your Word in my heart, that I might not sin against You.
12 I praise You, O Lord; teach me Your decrees.
13 I have recited aloud all the regulations You have given us.
14 I have rejoiced in Your laws as much as in riches.
15 I will study Your commandments and reflect on Your ways.
16 I will delight in Your decrees and not forget Your word.

Sometimes I feel that I am so far from what God wants me to be.  I can only see my failures.  At those times I just have to repent for the times I have not done what I know to do and pray that if I keep following the Word (His commands for us), that I am showing my thankfulness by being obedient.

“I will thank You by living as I should!”

What a statement that is. That we can be thankful just by living as we should.  God is so good to us, He doesn’t make things too hard for us.  He makes it so easy, we just have to choose to do what He asks.  Hide the word in your heart, learn from it, live it and don’t forget His word.

Leave a Reply

