Think on these things and be Thankful

Philippians 4:8 (MSG)

Summing it all up, friends, I’d say you’ll do best by filling your minds and meditating on things true, noble, reputable, authentic, compelling, gracious—the best, not the worst; the beautiful, not the ugly; things to praise, not things to curse. Put into practice what you learned from me, what you heard and saw and realized. Do that, and God, who makes everything work together, will work you into his most excellent harmonies.  

This week as I prepare to celebrate Thanksgiving,  I plan to look around at the ways that God has blessed me and give thanks.  I suggest that you do the same.  I find it too easy to only look at the things I am lacking or want and don’t have.  The things that are not the way I would like them to be so, I am committing myself to repent of those types of thought and words (turn them around) and choose to look instead at what I do have, what God has bless me with and what is the way I had hoped it would be.

Today I and thank the Lord for wonderful friends who love Jesus.

From the day that I first came to know Jesus as Savior and Lord, He has brought good friends to me that love Him also and strive to do the work He has given each of us.  I am praying today for my friends.  I am also thankful for the friends who don’t know Jesus (yet) and pray that they will soon have the blessing of knowing Him (Jesus) personally.

Philippians 1:3-6  (MSG)

Every time you cross my mind, I break out in exclamations of thanks to God. Each exclamation is a trigger to prayer. I find myself praying for you with a glad heart. I am so pleased that you have continued on in this with us, believing and proclaiming God’s Message, from the day you heard it right up to the present. There has never been the slightest doubt in my mind that the God who started this great work in you would keep at it and bring it to a flourishing finish on the very day Christ Jesus appears.

Lord most of all I thank You that You are my Lord, Savior and Friend!

Proverbs 18:24  (NKJV) A man who has friends must himself be friendly, But there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.

Leave a Reply

