Who’s Words are You Using

John 12:49  (AMP) “…I have never spoken on My own authority or of My own accord or as self-appointed, but the Father Who sent Me has Himself given Me orders [concerning] what to say and what to tell.”

John 12:49 (NLT)  I don’t speak on my own authority. The Father who sent me has commanded me what to say and how to say it.

Yesterday I didn’t post anything on my blog.  I have tried to only write what I have felt the Lord leading me to each day.  Some days I don’t think I have anything and then when I read the Word or I hear something said, I get a spark and know that’s what I need to write about.  Yesterday I just didn’t have anything.  I kept praying about it and then as I was listening to Kenneth Copeland preach on TV I did get a spark.  But it wasn’t a spark telling me what to write but that if the Lord wasn’t leading me in what to write I shouldn’t try to do it on my own.  He (the Lord) reminded me that I need to write what He gives me, not just my thoughts and not just to have something written for that day.

God has been dealing with me for the past couple of months about following His leading like Jesus did.  Jesus only said what the Father said and only did what the Father told him to do.  When I first heard this message (this year), it was a revelation to me.  I hadn’t realized there where times when Jesus didn’t do anything or maybe did what seems a small thing to us, and that it was because He (Jesus) was doing what the the Father (God)told Him to do in that situation. I had never thought that those times when I just didn’t have anything to say to someone or didn’t feel led to ‘do something’ about a situation that it was because God wasn’t telling me to do or say something.  Maybe nothing needed said or maybe I wasn’t the person to say it.

In another place Jesus talks about only saying what you need to say.

Matthew 5:37 (NIV)  All you need to say is simply ‘Yes’ or ‘No’;anything beyond this comes from the evil one.

Like I said this has been a real revelation to me.  It so goes against how I have thought in the past that I have really have had to meditate on it.  But when I read the Word I see that it is what Jesus said and if that was how Jesus did it, then I would be wise to follow His pattern.  We (I) are to be like Jesus and that means saying and doing what Jesus did and said.

Leave a Reply

