How to become a Child of God

1 John 5:1-3 (NLT)

v.1 Everyone who believes that Jesus is the Christ has become a child of God.

And everyone who loves the Father loves his children, too.

v.2 We know we love God’s children if we love God and obey his commandments.

v.3 Loving God means keeping his commandments, and his commandments are not burdensome.

It amazes me how simple God made things for us to become His children and to love and keep His commandments.

1. Believe that Jesus is the Christ (the anointed One).  The Son of God, anointed and chosen by God to become the Savior of the world.

2. Love the Father, love His children. Obey His (God’s commandments).

3. Love God by keeping His commandments.  Not difficult because, loving God means keeping His commandments.  His commandments are not burdensome (Heavy; grievous to be borne; causing uneasiness or fatigue; oppressive. Websters 1828).

I have always found that if I keep my focus on God, on His Word and what He says I should be doing it is easy to be obedient and to walk in love.  I only start having trouble when I get away from Him.  This doesn’t mean trouble doesn’t come, it does come and sometime more than when I am just doing my own thing.  The difference is in how I am able to respond to trouble and the peace I have.

I have always said that “if you focus on the does’, you won’t have trouble with the ‘don’ts’.   In other words if your focus is on doing what God tells you, those ‘don’ts’ won’t have power over you and it is easy(or easier) to say no to them.

Have a good  ‘doing’  day today!

Leave a Reply

