Friday Bible Study – Godly Promotion

Psalm 113:5-9 (NLT)

5 Who can be compared with the Lord our God, who is enthroned on high.

6 He stoops to look down on heaven and on earth.

7 He lifts the poor from the dust and the needy from the garbage dump.

8 He sets them among princes, even the princes of his own people!

9 He gives the childless woman a family, making her a happy mother.

Praise the Lord!

Reading these verses we can see that God lifts up and promotes those who cannot on their own promote themselves.  It doesn’t say whether or not they deserve to be promoted but they tell us that no one can be compared to the Lord and that He blesses and promotes.

I have struggled for some time with the desire to change work positions.  But nothing I have done has seemed to work.  I have prayed, asking God’s will, requesting what I desire and striving to get my desires in line with what God has for me.  I have applied for jobs in my work place and outside of it.  Nothing seems to change.  This has been over several years.  (Did you notice there are too many I’s in this? Ouch!)

I had started to question why nothing I did seemed to work.  I still don’t have my answer but the Lord has started to dealing with me about “Godly promotion”.  Why do I want a different position and is it what God has for me?  Has God had a reason for my being in the position I am in and have I fulfilled what He wants me to do?  Someone reminded my today that maybe I am where I am because they needed me to be there.  I had never thought of it that way.

This is what the message the Lord gave me about this : Freedom is not trying to promote yourself but waiting for God to promote you. This doesn’t mean you back down when God prompts you to volunteer or when someone else volunteers or promotes you, you just don’t promote yourself.

I’m still not sure about His plan for me but I have started to look at it in a different way, putting my trust in the Lord and striving to appreciate the blessings He has given me.  Looking for ways to bless others and praising the Lord, Who is worthy to be praised.  If you are in a similar type situation I hope that this might be a help to you.

1 Peter 5:6-7 (AMP)

6 Therefore humble yourselves [demote, lower yourselves in your own estimation] under the mighty hand of God, that in due time He may exalt you,

7 Casting the whole of your care [all your anxieties, all your worries, all your concerns, once and for all] on Him, for He cares for you affectionately and cares about you watchfully.

God promotes who He wants to promote.  But if you are God’s child, have accepted Jesus as Lord and Savior and are following God’s word HE WANTS TO BLESS AND PROMOTE YOU!  Great news huh?

If you aren’t sure if it is God’s will to promote & bless us, here are just a few scriptures about this.

Psalm 33:18-19 (MSG) Watch this: God’s eye is on those who respect him, the ones who are looking for his love. He’s ready to come to their rescue in bad times; in lean times he keeps body and soul together.

Deuteronomy 28:2-14 (NLT)

2 You will experience all these blessings if you obey the Lord your God:

3 Your towns and your fields will be blessed.

4 Your children and your crops will be blessed. The offspring of your herds and flocks will be blessed.

5 Your fruit baskets and breadboards will be blessed.

6 Wherever you go and whatever you do, you will be blessed.

7 “The Lord will conquer your enemies when they attack you. They will attack you from one direction, but they will scatter from you in seven!

8 “The Lord will guarantee a blessing on everything you do and will fill your storehouses with grain. The Lord your God will bless you in the land he is giving you.

9 “If you obey the commands of the Lord your God and walk in his ways, the Lord will establish you as his holy people as he swore he would do.

10 Then all the nations of the world will see that you are a people claimed by the Lord, and they will stand in awe of you.

11 “The Lord will give you prosperity in the land he swore to your ancestors to give you, blessing you with many children, numerous livestock, and abundant crops.

12 The Lord will send rain at the proper time from his rich treasury in the heavens and will bless all the work you do. You will lend to many nations, but you will never need to borrow from them.

13 If you listen to these commands of the Lord your God that I am giving you today, and if you carefully obey them, the Lord will make you the head and not the tail, and you will always be on top and never at the bottom.

14 You must not turn away from any of the commands I am giving you today, nor follow after other gods and worship them.

How do we wait for Godly promotion?  Humble yourself and cast all of your cares on Him.  Trust Him to have the perfect timing and plan for you and wait expectantly for His blessings.

We are given examples of God’s people who had to wait for Godly promotion.  Three I can think of (and there are many more) are Joseph, Moses and Peter. When they tried to do it themselves things didn’t go well but when they waited patiently for the Lord to promote them, He (the Lord) promoted them in amazing ways.

If you are wondering HOW do I do this? Do what Jesus said:

John 5:30 (NIV) By myself I can do nothing;I judge only as I hear, and my judgment is just, for I seek not to please myself but him who sent me.

If this was true for Jesus, it is surely true for us.

Pray, listen to God in all the ways He speaks to us (the Word, inner witness, other people, and sometimes in other ways, we have to pay attention and be looking for His guidance and leading.) and then wait patiently and expectantly for His promotion.

Romans 12:1-2 (AMP)

I appeal to you therefore, brethren, and beg of you in view of [all] the mercies of God, to make a decisive dedication of your bodies [presenting all your members and faculties] as a living sacrifice, holy (devoted, consecrated) and well pleasing to God, which is your reasonable (rational, intelligent) service and spiritual worship.

2 Do not be conformed to this world (this age), [fashioned after and adapted to its external, superficial customs], but be transformed (changed) by the [entire] renewal of your mind [by its new ideals and its new attitude], so that you may prove [for yourselves] what is the good and acceptable and perfect will of God, even the thing which is good and acceptable and perfect [in His sight for you].

This is a really radical idea, don’t be conformed to this world, renew your mind with the Word of God.  Don’t do what the world does, worry, stress and try to make things happen.  Don’t be afraid (don’t let fear come into your relationship with the Lord) to trust God to bring about the very best for you.  When fear and worry try to come in, renew your mind with the Word.  Keep at it, the Word won’t fail you.

Isaiah 55:11 (AMP) So shall My word be that goes forth out of My mouth: it shall not return to Me void [without producing any effect, useless], but it shall accomplish that which I please and purpose, and it shall prosper in the thing for which I sent it.

Keep expecting.

Leave a Reply

