An invitation to “More” Blog and Bible Study

I would like to invite you to seek “More” with me.  “More” is both a Blog and a Bible Study.  If you are like me and want to experience more of what God has for us, to know Him more, to learn more of what the Bible has for us, to share more Jesus every day and to be more of what God intended you to be I invite you today to join me.

“More” Bible study is Friday mornings at 7:30 am at Clabber Girl Restaurant in Terre Haute, Ind.  I’d love for you to join us.  

“More” Blog is posted several times a week.  I include the Bible study lesson plus other messages.

How the “More” Bible study got started.

For the past couple of years I have felt a strong urgency to increase my commitment to the Word and knowing my Lord and Savior.  I started studying the Bible more and re-committed to a daily reading plan.  I want to be excited about the Word of God and get past any fear of sharing what God gives me.  I want to share Jesus with others daily and point them to Him.  I want everyone I know to experience this wonderful life of knowing and loving our Lord.

I started praying about what and how the Lord would have me share with others and who I should share with.  Jesus gave these instructions when he sent His disciples out.

Matthew 10:5-8 (MSG)

Jesus sent his twelve harvest hands out with this charge:

“Don’t begin by traveling to some far-off place to convert unbelievers. And don’t try to be dramatic by tackling some public enemy. Go to the lost, confused people right here in the neighborhood. Tell them that the kingdom is here. Bring health to the sick. Raise the dead. Touch the untouchables. Kick out the demons. You have been treated generously, so live generously.

After spending some time in prayer and study I felt that I should start by offering a Bible study for women in my church and also those I come in contact with at work.  I decided to call it “More” because what I kept feeling about my life was that I wanted “More” than I had been experiencing.

After I decided to do this it was amazing (to me) God just started giving me studies almost every time I sat down to read the Bible or when I listened to speakers, sometimes in odd ways I didn’t expect. Within a couple weeks I had 6 or 7 studies ready to go and several ideas for more started.  (I have studied the Bible for many years but had never had this experience). I talked to my Pastor and got His approval to announce a Bible Study.  This is when it got hard.  There were several mix-ups about the study time and location, and even what we were doing.  I finally had a few people who were interested but it was several weeks before I actually had anyone come join and me.

How “More” blog got started

One week, after no on had shown up for the Bible Study,  I was praying about whether I had even heard from God when the thought came to me to write a Blog and use the blog as a way to share the things the Lord was giving me.  I felt such relief.  To me it was a great way to share what I was studying without the pressure of worrying about people showing up for Bible Study. So, that was how the “More” blog got started.  The main thing I wanted was to share the Word and Jesus and in this way I still could.

The Lord is funny sometimes and when He wants something done He doesn’t always just give it to just one person.  He knows who and how to get His message out.  At the same time that I had felt led to start a Bible study a friend of mine also had this idea.  Without either of us realizing it we went to our Pastor and received approval to start our separate studies.  We each had different days/times and plans for our studies but they were both for women and we started the same week.  This turned into one of those situations that our enemy uses to try to bring division.  I have had to trust God and His plan for me in this knowing that His plan for me and my study may not be the same plan for my friend and hers, I have had to remind myself that the Lord may have different reasons, people, etc.. for each of us.  I am only responsible for what the Lord has given to me and to love others.  Paul wrote about a similar division to the church in Colossians:

Colossians 2:2-3 (NLT) 2 I want them (you) to be encouraged and knit together by strong ties of love. I want them to have complete confidence that they understand God’s mysterious plan, which is Christ himself.3 In him lie hidden all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.

God has a purpose and plan for all of us but just as we are all different, His plans for each of us is different and sometimes mysterious to us.

Jeremiah 1:5 (NLT) “I knew you before I formed you in your mother’s womb. Before you were born I set you apart and appointed you as my prophet to the nations.

We need to follow the Lord’s leading and then trust Him to guide us along the way.  Keep our faith in God.

Proverbs 16:9 (NLT) We can make our plans, but the Lord determines our steps.

I guess my point in all of this is that although I have sometimes questioned whether I am doing what the Lord wants me to do, I will continue until I feel He shows me something different.

If you are in a similar situation and wondering about God’s plan for you, keep seeking Him, read the Word, pray and trust Him to guide you in the way He has for you.  *

If you don’t see my blog on Facebook check the Website (Facebook hasn’t been linking the past couple of weeks.).  rkonazeski.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

