Finding Peace

I haven’t posted anything for quite a while.  Sometimes it’s easy to be too busy to spend time doing more than maintaining.  I think that is what I have been doing.  But I find that just maintaining doesn’t “feed me” enough to do more and so I lose focus on what is really important.  Following God and doing His will for my life is what is truly important. When I’m not following closely enough I lose “peace”.  I needed to get back on track and follow Him as close as I can get.  I need that peace only He provides.

Where do we find peace when we don’t have it.  Only in the Word of God.  Jesus continually spoke about peace and reminded us that He is our peace.

John 14:27 (NLT) tells us:   “I am leaving you with a gift—peace of mind and heart. And the peace I give is a gift the world cannot give. So don’t be troubled or afraid.

Again in Phillipians 4:6-7 (NLT) we are reminded:  “Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.

If you question how to get God’s peace we can find this in 1 Peter.

1 Peter 5:6-7 (NKJV) Therefore humble yourselves under the mighty hand of God, that He may exalt you in due time, casting all your care upon Him, for He cares for you.

Here I had to include 2 different versions.

1 Peter 5:6-7 (NLT) So humble yourselves under the mighty power of God, and at the right time he will lift you up in honor.Give all your worries and cares to God, for he cares about you.

Remember who Jesus is and what He has (already) provided for us.  God’s desire is to bless us.  How awesome is that?

John 10:10 (NLT) 10 The thief’s purpose is to steal and kill and destroy. My (Jesus) purpose is to give them a rich and satisfying life.

Ephesians 3:20 (MSG) 20-21 God can do anything, you know—far more than you could ever imagine or guess or request in your wildest dreams! He does it not by pushing us around but by working within us, his Spirit deeply and gently within us.

2 Chronicles 16:9 (NLT) The eyes of the Lord search the whole earth in order to strengthen those whose hearts are fully committed to him.

God is always looking for people who are committed to Him.

Jesus has guaranteed peace for us.

John 16:33  (NKJV) 33 These things I have spoken to you, that in Me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation; but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world.”

John 14:1-4  (MSG)  “Don’t let this throw you. You trust God, don’t you? Trust me. There is plenty of room for you in my Father’s home. If that weren’t so, would I have told you that I’m on my way to get a room ready for you? And if I’m on my way to get your room ready, I’ll come back and get you so you can live where I live. And you already know the road I’m taking.”

John 14:15-17 (MSG) “If you love me, show it by doing what I’ve told you. I will talk to the Father, and he’ll provide you another Friend so that you will always have someone with you. This Friend is the Spirit of Truth. The godless world can’t take him in because it doesn’t have eyes to see him, doesn’t know what to look for. But you know him already because he has been staying with you, and will even be in you!

John 14:26-27 (MSG) “I’m telling you these things while I’m still living with you. The Friend, the Holy Spirit whom the Father will send at my request, will make everything plain to you. He will remind you of all the things I have told you. I’m leaving you well and whole. That’s my parting gift to you. Peace. I don’t leave you the way you’re used to being left—feeling abandoned, bereft. So don’t be upset. Don’t be distraught.

  • Don’t look at where you fall short.  Look at where He (God) meets us and provides what we need.
  • God didn’t call me or you to do what anyone else is doing, only what He tells us personally to do.  I (we) only fail if I (we) don’t do what He has told us.

Prayer: Lord help me to do what You tell me to do today.

Leave a Reply

